Literary Junkies

Pink Heels Pink Truck

1. What are you reading right now? Tell us about it!
Radiance of Tomorrow by Ishmael Beah. I LOVED his memoir A Long Way Gone so I thought I’d give this book, his first novel, a try. I’m not too far into it, so here’s the Goodreads synopsis: At the center of Radiance of Tomorrow are Benjamin and Bockarie, two longtime friends who return to their hometown, Imperi, after the civil war. The village is in ruins, the ground covered in bones. As more villagers begin to come back, Benjamin and Bockarie try to forge a new community by taking up their former posts as teachers, but they’re beset by obstacles: a scarcity of food; a rash of murders, thievery, rape, and retaliation; and the depredations of a foreign mining company intent on sullying the town’s water supply and blocking its paths with electric wires. As Benjamin and Bockarie search for a way to restore order, they’re forced to reckon with the uncertainty of their past and future alike.

1

2. What was your favorite series to read when you were a kid?
I read a lot of the “normal” ones like The Baby-Sitters Club and Fear Street but two series that I was obsessed with that I don’t think were as popular were Sunset Island by Cherie Bennett and Mandie by Lois Gladys Leppard.

2

3

3. The world is ending: What 3 books do you save from your collection in hopes to contribute to whatever new society forms?
My three favorites of course: Into Thin Air by Jon Krakauer, The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian by Sherman Alexie, and The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky.

4

5

6

4. What is your favorite genre to read? Why?
I don’t really care for non-fiction, unless it’s a memoir. Other than that, I like most fiction… Historical fiction, dystopian, fantasy, romance, etc.

5. If you wrote a book about your life, what would the title be?
She’s A Wanderer… I love to travel! I am visiting country #36 next week! 🙂

6. What is next on your “to-read” list? Tell us about it!
Yesterday I read an article comparing the books Darkness, Take My Hand by Dennis Lehane and The Cutting Season by Attica Locke to the show True Detective. So maybe one of those!

3 Comments

Leave a Reply

