Book Review: The Husband’s Secret by Liane Moriarty

the_husbands_secret

I used this book for the Treasure Hunt (a family relationship), Women Challenge, Goodreads 2013 Reading Challenge, and 52 Books in 52 Weeks.

Summary from Goodreads: “My Darling Cecilia, If you’re reading this, then I’ve died…” Imagine your husband wrote you a letter, to be opened after his death. Imagine, too, that the letter contains his deepest, darkest secret – something so terrible it would destroy not just the life you built together, but the lives of others too. Imagine, then, that you stumble across that letter while your husband is still very much alive… Cecilia Fitzpatrick achieved it all – she’s an incredibly successful business woman, a pillar of her small community, and a devoted wife and mother. Her life is as orderly and spotless as her home. But that letter is about to change everything, and not just for her: Rachel and Tess barely know Cecilia – or each other – but they too are about to feel the earth-shattering repercussions of her husband’s devastating secret.

Verdict: 4 out of 5 stars. At first I couldn’t get into it and I was so disappointed, because I loved her other book What Alice Forgot so much. However, after learning the secret and figuring out how the three women were connected, it got much better! It’s not what you would think…

4-stars

bookclubbutton

+ The book is told from the viewpoint of three women. Which women did you like the most and why? Whom did you dislike the most and why?
I liked Tess the most. I thought Celia was too uptight and fake. Tess just seemed real. I disliked Rachel the most, because she was so bitter and hateful. Although I guess she had good reason to be.

+ What would you have done if you had found out the secret that Celia did? Did you agree with the way she handled it? What is the “right” thing to do in a situation like that?
I’m not sure what I would do. I think it’s one of those situations where you can’t truly answer unless it happens to you!

+ What was the point of the side story with Tess? Do you excuse the way she acted during that week because of the uncertainty in her marriage?
To bring the story full circle, connect the dots… I do. I would be devastated if my husband and best friend/cousin were having an affair. I can’t believe she went back to him.

+ Do you believe the bike accident was adequate “penance” for what John Paul had done?
I think John Paul lived with the secret and that was penance enough. I don’t think his daughter deserved to suffer for his sins!

+ Did you like the resolution of the book? Did you feel there was enough closure?
I read it a few months ago so I can’t remember exactly what happened, but I think I was satisfied with it!

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Books Read in 2013 | I Like Big Books

Leave a Reply

