Book Review: Silver Linings Playbook by Matthew Quick

silver_linings_playbook_cover_book

I am using this book for the Young Adult Reads 2013 Year Long Reading Challenge, Goodreads 2013 Reading Challenge, 52 Books in 52 Weeks, Literary Friday, and Book Club Friday. I also read it for the Literary Junkies June book club.

 photo ArtatHomeButton_zps18898da7.jpg

Summary from Goodreads: Meet Pat. Pat has a theory: His life is a movie produced by God. And his God-given mission is to become physically fit and emotionally literate, whereupon God will ensure a happy ending for him — the return of his estranged wife Nikki. (It might not come as a surprise to learn that Pat has spent time in a mental health facility.) The problem is, Pat’s now home, and everything feels off. No one will talk to him about Nikki; his beloved Philadelphia Eagles keep losing; he’s being pursued by the deeply odd Tiffany; his new therapist seems to recommend adultery as a form of therapy. Plus, he’s being hunted by Kenny G! In this enchanting novel, Matthew Quick takes us inside Pat’s mind, showing us the world from his distorted yet endearing perspective.

Verdict: 5 out of 5 stars! I just loved Pat’s “voice” and was rooting for him the whole time. I saw the movie about six months before I read the book, and a few days after… I still love the movie even though it was pretty different from the book. They’re both great!

5 stars

2 Comments

  1. I loved the movie, but I haven’t read the book yet. Your review has encouraged me to read it! 😀 I think I’d like it although the movie isn’t an accurate adaptation. I’ll add it to my Goodreads TBR list.

    Thanks so, so much for linking-up to Literary Friday. Your support and dedication to the linky means so much to me!

    I hope you have a super Monday!

    xo,
    RJ

  2. Pingback: Books Read in 2013 | I Like Big Books

Leave a Reply

