Book Review: If I Stay by Gayle Forman

4374400I am using this book for the Women Challenge, Goodreads 2013 Reading Challenge, 52 Books in 52 Weeks, Literary Friday, Book Club Friday, and the May book club at Peanut Butter Fingers.

 photo ArtatHomeButton_zps18898da7.jpgSummary from Goodreads: In a single moment, everything changes. Seventeen-year-old Mia has no memory of the accident; she can only recall riding along the snow-wet Oregon road with her family. Then, in a blink, she finds herself watching as her own damaged body is taken from the wreck… A sophisticated, layered, and heart-achingly beautiful story about the power of family and friends, the choices we all make, and the ultimate choice Mia commands.

Book Club Discussion Questions:

1. Were you rooting for Mia to stay or to go? How did you feel about the ending?
I definitely wanted her to stay… I thought it would be so dumb if she chose not to!! So I was pleased with the ending.

2. Did you find yourself more interested in the present day scenes where Mia is in the hospital or the flashback scenes that reveal more about Mia’s life before the accident?
I liked the flashbacks better… I was not a huge fan of the out-of-body experience crap that was going on with Mia in the present.

3. How did you feel about Mia and Adam’s relationship?
I understood it… Sometimes people want different things from life and it’s hard to choose between love and pursuing your dreams.

Verdict: 3 out of 5 stars. This book was totally not what I expected. I would have never read it if I knew it was about a girl who is “outside” her body the entire time. That was weird. Also it was a little frustrating because you know what her decision should be and ultimately is. Regardless, it was a good read and I may have shed a few tears at the end.

3stars

5 Comments

  1. Pingback: 5 for Five | Grown in Southern Ground

  2. Pingback: From Firsts to Lasts | Grown in Southern Ground

  3. Pingback: If I Stay | Peanut Butter Fingers

  4. Pingback: Books Read in 2013 | I Like Big Books

Leave a Reply

