Book Review: Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell

15745753

I am using this book for the Women Challenge, Bookworm Bitches 2013 A-Z Title Challenge, Goodreads 2013 Reading Challenge, 52 Books in 52 Weeks, and Literary Friday.

 photo ArtatHomeButton_zps18898da7.jpg

Summary from Goodreads: Set over the course of one school year in 1986, Eleanor & Park is the story of two star-crossed misfits – smart enough to know that first love almost never lasts, but brave and desperate enough to try. When Eleanor meets Park, you’ll remember your own first love – and just how hard it pulled you under.

Verdict: 4 out of 5 stars. I really wanted to love this book. But I didn’t. I liked it but Eleanor’s insecurity annoyed me and I hated the ending. I guess it was a little hopeful but I just wanted things to be more happy. They never really explained what was so awful about Eleanor’s stepdad. It was an odd book. But still a good read overall.

4 stars

4 Comments

  1. Pingback: 5 for Five | Grown in Southern Ground

  2. Pingback: Books Read in 2013 | I Like Big Books

Leave a Reply

