Book Review: The Clue of the Broken Locket by Carolyn Keene

book

I read this book for my Literature & Media for Children class. I am using it for the Treasure Hunt (something made of metal, something you’d wear), Eclectic Reader Challenge (action adventure), Women Challenge, Bookworm Bitches 2013 A-Z Title Challenge, Goodreads 2013 Reading Challenge, 52 Books in 52 Weeks, and Literary Friday.

It was impossible to find a summary of the book online! The ones I found were of the original book which is nothing like the one I read, as it was rewritten in the 1960s.

My review for my class: I was drawn to this book as I am researching the Stratemeyer Syndicate (producers of the Nancy Drew series) for my group project. I also loved Nancy Drew books as a kid and wanted to re-read one. I enjoyed the book and thought it was well-written as far as how the mystery unfolded. It was suspenseful and not too predictable. However, the language was a bit old-fashioned and parts of the plot/characters seemed outdated. Also I didn’t like how the character Bess was described as “inclined to be overweight” and then in may scenes is either talking about eating, eating, or cooking. It was kind of offensive.

Verdict: 4 out of 5 stars. A fun, light read that preteen girls would enjoy.4 stars

2 Comments

  1. Pingback: Books Read in 2013 | I Like Big Books

Leave a Reply

