Book Review: Hollywood by Charles Bukowski

images

I am using this book for the Goodreads 2013 Reading Challenge, Bookworm Bitches 2013 A-Z Title Challenge, 52 Books in 52 Weeks, and Book Club Friday.

I usually post the summary from Goodreads but for some reason it’s in Spanish! Here’s what a Library Journal review posted on Amazon had to say: In this hilarious roman a clef, Bukowski draws on his experiences while writing the script for the 1987 film Barfly. Henry Chinaski, the author’s alter ego in the film, here returns to write–despite misgivings–a Hollywood screenplay, The Dance of Jim Beam. The film is based on Chinaski’s early life as a barfly and brawler, before he became a famous author. As he and his companion Sarah are caught up in the Hollywood whirlwind, Bukowski satirizes a host of well-known movie personalities. While Bukowski fans will welcome the reappearance of Chinaski, with his penchant for booze, women, and horse racing, film buffs should enjoy the novel for its delightful and irreverent portrayal of Hollywood. Highly recommended.

Verdict: 4 out of 5 stars. I have been wanting to read something by Bukowski for awhile but had my doubts as I was under the impression that he was more of a guy’s guy and I might be offended by or not like his writing. I didn’t feel that way at all! I enjoyed the book and while reading it was constantly reminded of the TV show Californication (whose main character is supposedly based off Bukowski). Now I need to see the movie Barfly!

4 stars

3 Comments

  1. Pingback: WWW Wednesday | I Like Big Books

  2. Pingback: Books Read in 2013 | I Like Big Books

Leave a Reply

