Library Storytime Theme: Snow/Winter

Intro song (Tune: Did You Ever See A Lassie?):
The more we read together
Together, together
The more we read together
The happier we’ll be
Cause your friends are my friends
And my friends are your friends
The more we read together
The happier we’ll be

First book:
Winter is the Warmest Season by Lauren Stringer

winteriswarmest

Transition song (Tune: Are You Sleeping):
It is snowing, it is snowing (make snowing motions with fingers)
On my head, on my head (touch head with both hands)
I need a hat, I need a hat (show children a hat)
On my head, on my head (touch head with both hands)
It is snowing, it is snowing (make snowing motions with fingers)
On my neck, on my neck (touch neck with both hands)
I need a scarf, I need a scarf (show children a scarf)
On my neck, on my neck (touch neck with both hands)
It is snowing, it is snowing (make snowing motions with fingers)
On my hands, on my hands (hold up hands)
I need mittens, I need mittens (show children a pair of mittens)
On my hands, on my hands (hold up hands)
It is snowing, it is snowing (make snowing motions with fingers)
On my feet, on my feet (point to feet)
I need boots, I need boots (wear boots and click them together)
On my feet, on my feet (point to feet)

Second book:
Hello, Snow! by Hope Vestergaard

9780374329495

Transition song (Tune: Hokey Pokey):
You put your right mitten in, you take your right mitten out
You put your right mitten in and you shake it all about
You do the winter pokey [shiver] and you turn yourself around
That’s what it’s all about!
(Continue with left mitten, right boot, left boot, hat, scarf, and snowsuit…)

Third book:
Snow by Manya Stojic

IMG_5610

Goodbye song (Tune: London Bridge is Falling Down):
Now it’s time to say goodbye,
Say goodbye, say goodbye,
Now it’s time to say goodbye,
I’ll see you next time.

Leave a Reply

